USTA league play

So this past weekend, I played in my first USTA mixed doubles tennis league match. Now considering I’ve been playing for years and years, this was the first time, I actually played in a meaningful competitive league. Wow, what a blast. Even though my team lost the match, it proved that I can raise my tennis game to the next level.

My partner was awesome, she taught me some strategies that I would never have incorporated into my game. BTW, I’m still sore after 2 days. Shows what kind of shape I’m in.

I’ll tell you something, this is serious business, this league play. Players don’t mess around on the court. NO JOKES, NO HUMOR, JUST BUSINESS. I tell you playing really improves your focus and appreciation for the mental toughness part of the game.

Tennis is a big part of my life all year around. I have a casual league in work that I lead (called the tennis fanatics), and I also do some free lance teaching for my kids and a local high school student. The satisfaction I get from teaching (anything) is second to none. I know that the next time I get laid off, I can turn to tennis as a p/t instruction career? Hmm..

Tennis is an amazing outlet for my energy and due to the game, I’ve made some of my best friends at work. If you want to stimulate your mind and your body, Tennis is the sport for you. Look at this, I’m rambling now.

My older child is on the tennis team in HS, but she’s not really keen on the game (for now). My younger child “has the eye of the tiger”. Her new years resolution was —> “Improve my backhand”.

Got a good kick out of that.

This year my kids are going to take some formal lessons during the winter and we’ll see the improvement in their game (hopefully). I tell you, if I had gotten any formal lessons, I’d be a 4.5 to 5.0 player right now as opposed to a 3.5 to 4.0 player.

That’s all for now.

Author: Dads Taxi

I'm a Dad from the Central New Jersey, who sees humor in lots of things. Some of the things I write about happen to me or I see them... I'm also on the constant hunt for a bargain!

Comment:

