DVD rentals on the cheap – Redbox

Over the past few weekends, my family and I have been into watching movies together (what a concept!). Instead of subscribing to Netflix or Blockbuster, we just hop in the car and go to our local Redbox DVD dispenser.

Hey how can you go wrong for $1 per day and you get to watch a decent movie. Yeah, I know you say there is advantages to Netflix and the other services, but for instant and cheapo gratification Redbox is the way to go.

I noticed that the Redbox locations are usually located in great locations (supermarket’s McDonalds).  Their website has a great way that you can find the closest Redbox which you can rent from. Also if you register, you’ll get a Free rental.

I first came across Redbox a few months ago when we were on vactin in Virginia Beach and we wanted to entertain the kids at nights in our hotel. So my wife and her sisterwent to Walmart and rented a couple of movies  for the night and voila, instant entertainment.

Return the movie the next day and repeat..

If you want a better bargain, you can always go to the local library and pick out their vast collection of  DVD’s. In my town, the collection of DVD’s at the library is enormous and they get a fresh set of movies every month.

So now you have multiple choices for cheap and/or free movies. Redbox or your public library.  I prefer Redbox, because a majority of the movies I get from the library have some kind of defect (scratches, freezing, etc..)

Author: Dads Taxi

I'm a Dad from the Central New Jersey, who sees humor in lots of things. Some of the things I write about happen to me or I see them... I'm also on the constant hunt for a bargain!

3 thoughts on “DVD rentals on the cheap – Redbox”

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

    Like

Comment:

