Airplane Free Fall – Survival Techniques

Free Falling and survival of the fittest from Popular Mechanics.

I was going to write today about the Apple introduction of the iPad, but of course that’s already been beaten to death by almost all the techies on Web 2.0. I even got into a flame “situation” on my Facebook .. but that is a story for another day..

So I was thinking (yes I do that on occassion), and just skimming My Yahoo Page for steals and deals and I came across a heading that reall got me thinking…

The heading just struck me as too good to pass up to write about: Free falling from an airplane at 35,000 and how to survive.. Knowing this could really save your life, or may just make you want to shake your head… For me, it was a little of both 

Today I saw this article from Popular Mechanics on how to survive a free fall from 35, 000 feet.  Well I know that I won’t go to sleep tonight without thinking about this kind of event.. Gives me the warm fuzzies.  Since I’ll be doing some traveling across the world in a few months, just knowing that someone cares enough to tell me how to survive, in case I wake up on the plane and I’m free falling at 35K.

Needless to say, this article is informational with a capital I..  Personally, I know that if I’m conscious as I free fall, I will reach for my iPhone (if it’s still on my person) and try to get a signal so I can surf over to the Popular Mechanics site and try to survive this horrific situation.

So what’s the trick to surviving?

  • You will be on the ground within 3 minutes.. whether you want to or not. Always remember, it’s the trip that matters, not the planning.
  • Become a Zen master… accept your situation and use the next few minutes of life to plan your descent and “landing”.  Basically become one with yourself (because within minutes there will be multiple pieces of you scattered) AND be prepared for impact… Of course if you know you are going into water.. You might want to be a “Pencil” and go straight down.. I love this: if a feet-first entry is inevitable, the most important piece of advice, for reasons both unmentionable and easily understood, is to clench your butt. According to the article, the probability of survival increases as you will come back up after hitting the water and not drowning..
  • Try to make sure you don’t land on your head (for obvious reasons).  I surely don’t want to make a mess with brain matter splatter… what a visual!
  • Know what terminal velocity means..as you approach the surface you will go faster…
  • If you are heavier, you will go faster as weight determines how fast you are going to fall. This means, my attempt at weight loss will be beneficial in case I’m in this situation. Heavier people hurtle to earth faster…
  • If you are strapped into your seat, you might have a better chance of survival..the article talks about a miracle survivor of a plane crash into the Amazon and how she survived… If you are not, you are pretty much on your own.

Of course,  by the time I finished reading this article, I was pumped and ready to try out this scenario. Not!

The article does provide links to another articles on the safest seats on an  airplane.

I’m sitting here thinking… If I’m free falling from 35K, what would I do and what would I be thinking of.. I surely would not be thinking of techniqus for landing….

Now I know how the passengers on  my favority TV show (which is returning next week for it’s final season) —> Lost, survived their 30K fall from Oceanic flight 815 onto the beach of  The Islan! They fell with the plane and survived the impact..

Hope you enjoyed this humorous interlude of dad’s taxi.  I think the probability of falling out of a plane and surviving is about the same as my chances of winning the Mega Millions Jackpot tonite which is $144 Million!

Dad

Author: Dads Taxi

I'm a Dad from the Central New Jersey, who sees humor in lots of things. Some of the things I write about happen to me or I see them... I'm also on the constant hunt for a bargain!

2 thoughts on “Airplane Free Fall – Survival Techniques”

Comment:

