Teenage Profiling in NJ – License Plate tags

Teenage Profiling on the road is alive and well in NJ in 2010!

An update to my post on Teenager’s and profiling:

This week my teen daughter passed her road test and the topic of profiling was a daily conversation in our house.  Believe it or not, I found myself on the side of having these tags! Now you’ll wonder what changed my position over a week?

  1. Having these tags actually,  makes teenager’s drive MORE carefully, due the psychology of having these tags on your car. My daughter had and extensive conversation with her girlfriend and she even admitted that having these tags made her drive more cautiously so she wouldn’t break as many rules of the road that she was breaking!
  2. These tags are providing a sense of responsibilty to teens. They know that they are responsible for their actions when they drive and they are being watched. Perhaps this is an exaggeration of the fact, but I know my daughter is taking her “provisional license” with a sense of new found responsibility since she knows that she will be profiled when she is out on the road!
  3. From the feedback that I received from my daughter, the teens in her high school absolutely hate the tags! The feel that these tags are invading their privacy when they are driving.. Well let me tell you something, teens don’t have any privacy when they drive, if they cut me off or tailgate me.

I was in the DMV the past weekend to get a duplicate for my lost registration card. It was a madhouse. Since yesterday was May 2nd,  a new law had just gone into effect in NJ. Teenagers need to have these red tags on the plates of each car they drive. A pair of these tags cost $4.

Update: These tags are NOT magnetic and will fall off your plates within a day or two.. They sure would not stick on my car.. we decided to put them in the glove compartment in case we were stopped by the local authorities of Middletown.

My first reaction to these tags:

  • With the amount of tags being purchased, I could only assume that the budget deficit could easily be solved in one day by the sale of these tags to parents of teenagers.

This impacts me directly as I have a teenager at home, who will be getting her drivers license in a few weeks.  P had purchased these tags from her driving school.

Results of these Tags for NJ Parents/Teenagers:

  • Letting everyone know that a teenager is driving.
  • Allowing the police in NJ to be on the look out for teenage drivers. This is what I call teenage profiling.
  • Guaranteed income increase for local townships in NJ, with increase in traffic violation ticket to not just teenager but to parents who have these tags on their cars!

I personally don’t agree with this legislation. as this is similar to racial profiling, but targeted towards teenagers and their parents.

As we all know, once a teenager gets his/her drivers license, the parent already pays for teenage driver rates for car insurance.

I don’t get it.. NJ already has the highest insurance rates in the United States. Adding these tags into the mix, just increases costs for the teenagers parents… I invite your thoughts on this topic!

Dad..

Author: Dads Taxi

I'm a Dad from the Central New Jersey, who sees humor in lots of things. Some of the things I write about happen to me or I see them... I'm also on the constant hunt for a bargain!

1 thought on “Teenage Profiling in NJ – License Plate tags”

Comment:

