Facebook Personal URL – Why don’t you like me?

For the past few weeks, I’ve been working on my other hobby/obsession: A personal Facebook pagge for my sister site BharatBeat and it’s associated forum site. . I figured that it would be pretty simple to get 25 “likes” so I could get a personal page.. Oh my god, getting these 25 likes was soo difficult.

Here’s what I learned:

  • Facebook users will  waste hours of their time on games like Farmville (which I still don’t get) rather than respond to “Like” requests
  • Social Media is more media than social. You can make your footprint on Facebook but you can’t make anyone “Like” you unless you reach out and touch someone.

Perhaps it’s human nature to be suspicious, and I’ll be the first one to say that I’m like this as well. Yet my experience in trying to get 25 people to like the page was let’s just say underwhelming.  It took me over 3 weeks to get these 25 “likes” and this is after at least 100 personal messages to family/friends and multiple large scale emails to my friends via email.

Overkill? Ya think? I had figured a few requests here and there would do the trick, but I had to resort to the old fashioned pleading and begging to get to the measly count of 28 after 3 weeks!

I’m actually starting to get disillusioned with the whole concept of developing the portal that I’ve been working on for the past 18 or so months.. I’m struggling to see the light.

I’m sure you have heard the famous saying “Build it and they will come” well what if “build it and nobody cares?”.. That is pretty discouraging

I’ m still sitting here thinking how can I make both the BB site and the FB page enticing enough for others to want to visit and “like” the respective sites.

Let’s see.. Or perhaps that after a long week of work, my enthusiasm is waning because I’m just tired and want to take a long nap?

Do you have any ideas on how to entice visitors to your site or your Facebook page?? Let me know and I’m willing to try anything (as long it’s legal!)

 

 

Author: Dads Taxi

I'm a Dad from the Central New Jersey, who sees humor in lots of things. Some of the things I write about happen to me or I see them... I'm also on the constant hunt for a bargain!

1 thought on “Facebook Personal URL – Why don’t you like me?”

Comment:

