Japan – tragedy that impacts the world

The disaster in Japan is not just local to the area, it will impact everyone throughout the world!

For the past two days, I’ve been glued to the TV set and watching with sadness another disaster of global proportions. I was watching the live reports on CNN and Fox News Channel all the live reports coming out of Japan. Was it a morbid fascination with the tragedy that the people of Japan are facing or just the empathy that I know I’m capable of?

Today I found the CNN blog – This just in and it shows the minute by minute replay of what happened.  This blog is just amazing with the content and video’s that are coming out of Japan.

The one thing that differentiates the Japan disaster to everything else (Katrina) is the amount of order that there seems to be in Japan. I have not heard of any looting, or violence in Tokyo or Sendai. Is this due to the inherent politeness of the culture in Japan, or is it that the people are just in so much shock and despair that they cannot do anything but be orderly?

The 1 – 2 – 3 punch of this tragedy is beyond comprehension. First the 8.9 Magnitude Earthquake, then the tsunami, and now the nuclear plants that are in possible meltdown. Only after 48 hours did the prime minister of Japan ask for help from other countries to help with the recovery operations. I don’t really blame him, most of the country was with out power and the basic amenities, so the communications between and in the cities is limited at best.

What I was fascinated by was that even though the cell phones and basic communications was was almost non-existent, Skype was used used everywhere to provide the world of updates of what was going on with the live reports that continue to be sent by the residents throughout the country.

This disaster is not just limited to Japan. The disaster also has impacted Hawaii (The Big Island), and other parts of the Asian Sub Contintent with Tsunami‘s. It’s not just a tragedy in Japan, it’s a tragedy of global proportions.

Perhaps it’s selfish of me, but I kept on thinking that what would happen to my house if a Tsunami hit my home. My home is only two miles from the shoreline of the Atlantic Ocean in Monmouth County, NJ. What would I do? Would my family and I survive?.

I’m sure that once the tallies come in, the loss of life from this natural disaster will soar beyond 10,000 and the property loss in the billions not just in Japan, but across the countries and land forms that will get additional tsumani’s and aftershocks from the earthquake.

To the people of Japan, I can only pray for their recovery from this disaster. You do not want this kind of disaster to impact any innocent life in the world. Words cannot express my sorrow when I see these scenes of destruction.

Please donate generously to your Local Red Cross so the citizens of Japan can find some solace in the help that the world can provide in face of this tragedy of global proportions.

 

Author: Dads Taxi

I'm a Dad from the Central New Jersey, who sees humor in lots of things. Some of the things I write about happen to me or I see them... I'm also on the constant hunt for a bargain!

Comment:

