Friendship and DNA

Did you know that the friends you choose is not just preferences, but it is determined by your DNA?

DNA

I was listening to CBS Radio news yesterday and I heard something that I found quite amusing. By the way, I was listening to the ever amusing Charles Osgood files.

The topic of discussion was Friendship and DNA.  A study was done (I forget where) and the study determined that the friends you make through out your life have a DNA relationship to you

Here are some examples

  • If you have a great sense of humor, the friends you choose will have a similar composition in their DNA
  • If you are a nice person, you will be attracted to friends that have a similar nature
  • Of course, the opposite also true: You just might become friends with someone that is a total opposite of you. So even here, opposites attract.
  • We actively seek out friends that are similar to us in our basic behaviour.

After listening to this and I started to think about my closest friend circle (be it ever so small). Many of my best friends (some of them lifelong friends) have almost identical values and mores as me!

So think about it, what do you look for when you make friends? Even if you don’t know, your DNA composition will make that choice for you!

Have a great day all!

Dad

Author: Dads Taxi

I'm a Dad from the Central New Jersey, who sees humor in lots of things. Some of the things I write about happen to me or I see them... I'm also on the constant hunt for a bargain!

6 thoughts on “Friendship and DNA”

  1. True friendship never expires….. I made contact with my college friend after 22 years and when we met last week, the 22 years just disappeared………

    Like

    1. Using FB is a great way to reconnect. Just a few days ago.. a similar thing happened to me.. someone I used to work with and I was friends with 15+ years ago found my wife on FB and then found me!

      Like

    1. That’s why Facebook is the way to keep in touch.. I do agree that as you get holder it is harder to make and keep friends! I found that I’ve made new friends just through my tennis network.. and as everyone knows Dad is a Tennis Fanatic.
      The funny thing is that I find my newer friends make more of an effort to keep in touch than friends that I grew up with who have moved away, gotten married, had children…

      Like

Comment:

