Hurricane at my Door – August 26, 2011 Middletown NJ

It’s been a pretty eventful week in Middletown, NJ.

First we had the 5.9 magnitude Earthquake (no damage thankfully) and now this weekend we have another unwanted guest Hurricane Irene!

Today, I came home from work and there wasn’t a cloud in the sky, but I knew that Hurricane Irene would be paying a visit this weekend to my town.  Living in NJ, I’ve gotten used to extreme weather, but the media blitz and the fear of the impending crisis is something I’ve never seen before!

Everywhere I look, there are signs of impending disaster. The township called and said voluntary evacuation had been initiated in Middletown for low-lying areas. Fortunately, I’m not in one of those areas, but I fear that the trees that surround my house are prime candidates for destruction of my house. Oh well, let’s see if my house is spared.

We live about 5 miles from Sandy Hook, NJ and I have a dread (in the pit of my stomach) that this hurricane is not going to spare my house.  We plan to evacuate tomorrow morning to our more serene locations away from the shore to Middlesex County and hope for the best.  I anticipate that when we return, there will be some level of damage to my house.. the question is just how much?

Stay tuned as we find out!

Author: Dads Taxi

I'm a Dad from the Central New Jersey, who sees humor in lots of things. Some of the things I write about happen to me or I see them... I'm also on the constant hunt for a bargain!

Comment:

