Texas on my Mind

Dad’s got Texas on his brain and can’t seem to get Plano off his mind…

A few weeks ago, I spent about a week in Dallas, Texas. This was both a personal and business visit. Personal first, business last. My brother and family live in Plano, Texas and they always show me a great time.

This time was extra special because, I got to eat the cheapest and most delicious Indian Food I’ve ever had. As my friends know me, my mantra is always “if it’s cheap or free it’s for me”. I try to be the ultimate in frugal. It doesn’t always work out, but I’m pretty proud of the ability to find deals.

In the Plano Area I’ve found 2 places that fit the bill for me for cheap and good eats

  • Mexican Food – $1 for a sit down meal for tacos. Chito’s has fresh chicken, fish, pork and beef tacos, you can’t go wrong. The salsa combinations are to die for as well
  • Indian Food – 99 cent daily specials at India Bazaar in Plano! Every day a special that you don’t want to miss. These are not just samples, but a full serving of amazing vegetarian food like Paani Puri, Bhel, and the topper, pure sugar cane juice
  • Beer and Darts – $2 dollar drafts and free games of Darts at Fox and Hound.. You can’t beat that. I’ve never played darts, but when you get a bullseye, that is worth the price of admission. Oh by the way, there is no admission charge! Only problem with this place is that it allows smokers and it doesn’t have a non-smoking section.. I gotta remember the name of this place. Highlight of this place was and I swear this would never happen to me in NJ.. A guy I just met sees that I don’t know how to set up the darts says.. let me help you and he gives me the edges to the darts out of the kindness of his heart. In NY/NJ.. they would tell you to go to..

After my awesome visit with my brother, I went to the pinnacle of luxary: The Hilton Anatole , in Downtown Dallas.Let me tell you I’ve been travelling for so many years for both business and pleasure, this hotel is #1 on my places I’d like to stay again in. From having the beautiful artwork (Including having 2 pieces of the Berlin wall, multiple Buddha statues, the Indian artwork, the pictures). This place is state of the art and huge! I felt like I died and went to heaven! You gotta see it to believe it!

I have to tell you, If I had my druthers, I’d be planning my relocation to Plano Texas.. Every one of my financial issues would be solved instantly. Yet I know, my Kismet/Karma is not that good. I’m destined to continue struggle daily in the Garden State.. oh well such is life.

Oh wait, I can close my eyes anytime and I can visualize myself living in Plano and being Dad’s taxi driving my daughter from activity to activity!

Author: Dads Taxi

I'm a Dad from the Central New Jersey, who sees humor in lots of things. Some of the things I write about happen to me or I see them... I'm also on the constant hunt for a bargain!

Comment:

