Franken-Storm Sandy Aftermath: New Jersey

Franken-storm Sandy has left NJ, but the aftermath is beyond words.. read on..

English: A cell phone tower in Palatine, Illin...
English: A cell phone tower in Palatine, Illinois, USA. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

It’s been a few days now since Hurricane Sandy came and went to the Jersey coast and to New Jersey in General. The devastation that this hurricane was at least 10 times what  Irene did to New Jersey about a year ago. 

 

Complete Communities destroyed, total chaos all across New Jersey. Some of the things I’ve seen and heard about over the radio (since I have not really seen ANY TV since the onslaught from Sandy).

 

  • Over 1 million people with NO POWER in NJ. This number has decreased over the past few days, but where I live in Middletown, NJ we have had no power and probably will have no power for 7 more days. Hopefully.
  • Trees up-rooted all over and many trees hanging precariously across power lines. In Middletown, I actually went UNDER a tree that is hanging onto a power line. Yes.. I know that is dangerous, but I really didn’t have much have a choice.stupidity overrode logic in this case.
  • Oddities that can can only be seen to be believed. In the picture below,  an elderly neighbor of mine and his wife are blowing/raking leaves as Sandy leaves.. BTW, he was doing the same thing as Sandy hit MT.. he was out blowing leaves from his driveway!

 

Image

 

  • Marina’s flooded out, with boats lifted off their docks (with their docks) and relocated to unnatural places.

 

Image

 

  • NO GAS anywhere, and wherever there was gas, huge lines (up to 4 hours). And at these stations, two separate lines.. people in their cars waiting to fill up and people on fill up the “Little Red Containers” for their generators.

 

Images

 

  • My network of choice (and I won’t name the service provider for my cell phone service.. Not Verizon), has had NO CELL phone coverage in Middletown. When we bailed out of Middletown, this morning, I still had NO 3G and/or 4G service for my cell phone in Middletown, NJ.
  • The communications by Middletown Township was outstanding, cell phone text, emails, phone calls to talk about recovery progress. Outstanding.. is the best way to talk about this. Of course I didn’t get much of this as my cell service had “NO SERVICE”.

 

Words cannot describe the wrath and the results of Sandy. Every community, stretching from Cape May county to Northern New Jersey was not spared. Many board walks and beach towns washed out, thousands of people displaced  from their homes, Life long memories destroyed in floods and fires.

 

Where I live in Middletown, NJ, we were in the direct path of the eye of the storm. Fortunately, our house was spared damage with a minimal of falling branches and no loss of property as such.

 

Over 1 million people are still without power right now in NJ. FEMA and all the agencies are doing an amazing job to get us back on-line (literally).

 

Even as I sit here at my relatives house in Somerset County, NJ, the hurricane’s impact is felt. No Cable TV!

 

This hurricane has bought out the best and worst in people. Price gouging (for Generators), and people on gas lines getting into fist fights and tempers flaring..

 

My office has been closed all week and many networks are down in many corporations. So this week is a forced vacation on many people..

 

If you are in NJ and see this post, what have you seen? I’d really like to hear from you on how you survived the “Franken-Storm Sandy”.

 

I applaud the Governor of NJ and the President in their actions before/during/and after Sandy. This was an example of all branches of the federal and state government working together for the good of the people. S

 

So what’s your Sandy Story? I’m all ears..

 

I wish everyone a speedy return to normalcy in you respective lives..

 

We only have a few more months till the end of times according to the Mayan Calendar.. Is this the start?

 

 

 

Author: Dads Taxi

I'm a Dad from the Central New Jersey, who sees humor in lots of things. Some of the things I write about happen to me or I see them... I'm also on the constant hunt for a bargain!

Comment:

